Meat of the Loom

Before I get into the explanation of this title, I must first give a shout out to the person responsible for leading me to come up with this name. Hey L. Rox! Secondly, I want it to be known that although I like to discuss the political and social environment, my blogs are primarily supposed to be humorous ones. If you fail to see the humour, move on and call it a day.

As many of you have heard by now, there is supposed to be a subsidy on meat. YAY! Although, a fair share of my friends are vegetarian and just shrugging going “big whoop” one even went so far as to say he’ll still starve (Yo De Jay!). I think this is a perfect opportunity for people with a green thumb to get in on the action! Plant your meat today!

I am sure many of you are already raising eyebrows wondering if I have completely lost what little I had, but I can assure you it is nothing so drastic. It is simply a play on words, you know, a ‘meat plant’ versus a meat plant. Anyway, if you assess the meat situation in Barbados, you would have to agree something is amiss with our fine meat and poultry industry.

I have a theory resulting from frequently dining out: “Chicken is a seasonal fruit.” Once I went to a restaurant which shall remain nameless and the menu clearly stated Lobster (Available year round) then when it came down to the chicken wings it had (When in season) and I looked over at my dinner-mate and she too was finding that notice a bit odd. Funny enough, going to lunch at a different establishment we were informed there was no chicken available, however we could order any of the fish dishes on the entire menu. I felt this was too much for my idiom so I just had a flying fish fajita. It was yummy… but I digress.

Getting back on track, I hereby decree that I shall be opening a meat grove. Come pick your farm ripened chicken breasts, stew beef and lamb necks to name a few.

*Sub-note*
Wanted: Meat pickers, no experience necessary, preferably vegetarian.

4 Responses to Meat of the Loom

  1. Mia says:

    Meat is murder!!!!

    Where do I sign up?

  2. superlative1 says:

    Don’t worry, we’ll contact you. Just let your interest be known here.

  3. theNickster says:

    I found chicken more a vegetable than a fruit.

  4. superlative1 says:

    Hmmmm, I guess, it’s kinda like the tomato, as far as its makeup it’s a fruit, but it is widely seen as a vegetable so we both may be right.

Leave a Reply

