Supermarket Time!!! *Repost*

WOO! So the wonderful Government of Barbados is yet again coddling its citizens. What a double edged sword. They’re working at reducing the cost of certain goods on the shelves of the supermarkets across the island. Funny enough I was having a two day discussion about the price increases and I felt I needed to share this with my well informed reading public.

The problem is, people fail to realise that the Government NOR the big bad food chains are responsible for increasing food prices per se. Another overlooked consideration is that with the Americanisation of the world as we know it since the advent of a million channels on the idiot box, everyone MUST have what they see, be it Olay Daily Facials® or Tostino’s Pizza Rolls.
The complication comes when you have to import these things as you all know there is no Oil of Olay factory in Barbados. We have a LARGE import bill because we are a tiny country and we don’t produce half of the things we need/want. How do people think they get here? Taking it away from the more luxurious items and bringing it down to grass roots level, let’s look at Sardines- a popular choice would be the brand Brunswick. Show of hands, how many of you out there have gone to the beach and felt the sweet caress of a sardine against your leg? For good reason, we don’t HAVE sardines in our waters. What then must we do to have our homes reek bright and early in the morning? Import!

Now, how does one get a tin of sardines from Canada to Barbados…? OH! I know, the wholesaler can make a paper plane and hurl it in the direction of Barbados. Now true I never made it to CXC with Physics but something tells me that won’t quite work for a variety of reasons. The fact is, we have to ship things to Barbados but Barbadians don’t seem to realise this. At any rate, I shall end it here and leave you with this to chew on.

Ef yuh wan to stan up in de people supamarket and spin roun looking at a hundred different boxes of Corn Flakes, yuh gun gotta pay for de luxury of superfluous choice.

Educate yourselves. Peace.

2 Responses to Supermarket Time!!! *Repost*

  1. David says:

    Keep writing bro. The piece was truly insightful. Keep working on your blog (Presentation) and I will link when the time is right.

    Peace!

  2. Margs says:

    Oh criminal, I just had to add this website to my faves list so I can check it often.
    You quite right tho, got to pay for the imports.

    And if I ever felt a sardine caressing my legs as I lay on the beach I would just die… or kill the sardine. Because that would mean they somehow managed to walk onto the beach and if the sardines mutated and grew legs then I for sure never swimming in Accra again…

    But don’t we have sardines in caribbean water? maybe just not the type we eat… I will continue watching my idiot box to see if they have any info on that.

Leave a comment