Countdown to Exodus

As that song by Chantal Kraviazuck goes,  “All my bags are packed I’m ready to go…” pretty much echoes my current sentiment as it relates to my zeal for a relocation. Yes the grounded world traveler plans on taking on a greater metropolitan existence.

I have spent a great deal of time contemplating which city to move to, especially from an island such as Barbados. The significance of the origin of the flights stems from two standpoints, one if the confusing and tedious issue of immigration- the ease with which my relocation can be expedited, and the other is that of aesthetics. I mean come on, I come from a holiday destination with multimillion dollar real estate right around the corner. I can’t go from living in ‘paradise’ to surviving a hell of my own choosing. So I need to give it a lot of thought.

So far I have narrowed it down to three countries, Canada, England and the United States of America. However, Canada is clearly my number one pick because currently, it’s the least controversial. As far as cities within, it’s Toronto, New York and London. The least pretentious as well as the cleanest of the three, Toronto comes out on top. Getting back to immigration, it would be easier for me to travel to either Toronto or London without a Visa, whereas for America on a whole, I would need an NIV (Non-Immigrant Visa), a process which can take months in and of itself, is costly and after your wait and expense, there is no guarantee that you will succeed in your application for one. Folly.

So that rules out the U.S.

Next point, England is just… gloomy, whereas Canada is consistent cold snow but it has sun! Now, whereas the sun and I are not friends, if I can see it and not have to be adversely affected by it, that works for me. Also, I have to mention this little fact.  I LOVE COATS! I went visiting the Burling Coat Factory site looking at coats that for obvious reasons would make no sense to be worn in Tropical Barbados.  So to all the nay-sayers telling me how one it’ll be cold, I say “You can put things on to make you warm, you can’t take enough off to make you cool.”

Finally, the issue of job opportunities comes up. Canada really does have an exceptional job market right now, and luckily, I have experience in SO many different areas, finding a job may not prove as difficult as it might be in the shrinking violets of London and New York, save if I were a drug dealer or prostitute, but that’s neither here nor there.

So, as I mentioned, I am working on a strategy of departure and have decided upon the fine city of Toronto. Fund raising efforts to be announced later. Will keep you posted.

Love, or something like it,

Superlative1
246superlative1@gmail.com

3 Responses to Countdown to Exodus

  1. Shauntelligence says:

    blimey, take me with you. B’dos is lame as the days are hot.

  2. s3 says:

    How you could discount London so. We does get sun ’bout up here too.

Leave a Reply

