Where is Rockstar101?

While looking through the Billboard Hot 100 checking to see how Shontelle’s highest rising single to date Impossible is doing this week,

I noticed that I hadn’t seen Rockstar 101 by Rihanna (ft. Slash).

Usually, before the video even comes out, the song is SOMEWHERE in the Hot 100 but with the video out a couple weeks now, I’m shocked that it’s no where to be found. At least I was at first.
Then I gave it some thought… the song which stuck out to me the first time I heard the album when it was released, and in my mind, this would have been a power single, especially the way in which I invisioned the music video. So when I heard this was going to be a single I was all excited thinking oh yay! Another potential number one single, then I saw the video and my jaw dropped.

That video looks like how a ghetto person imagines Rock music to be, as opposed to some artistic representation of being a Rockstar. Then when she suddenly dresses up like an Eastern European dominatrix, I gave up on the video altogether. Sad to say, worst video to date by Rihanna. Colour me disappointed.

Oh by the way- why are they putting her in blackface? Just a question.

2 Responses to Where is Rockstar101?

  1. Marvin says:

    I think in a quest to be different….she has gone slightly over the edge ! Still love the song…she should take a 2nd crack at the video

    • Superlative1 says:

      Well as I mentioned, she does not produce music videos she basically ‘stars’ in them so it doesn’t fall on her entirely. The video is pathetic and I could have done a better job at it

Leave a Reply

