The Peppermint Tea Goblin

20140119-143950.jpg

Living with others post your early 20s is always a challenge, regardless of who it is. I live with my parents – the worst example of people you can live with as a young adult. During this time you’re coming into your own; your own tastes, levels of comfort, preference of clothing optional in the kitchen etc. however you have to now temper that based on those around you and their own levels of comfort etc.

Fine.

However what really pisses me off is when you have a communal space where items are stored. Before I continue let me say this – I am not a selfish person. I love sharing with people who appreciate the things I do and it gives us something to chat and/or complain about in unison. BUT when people are clearly using your things without asking and more importantly TELLING you they’re using them, that right there folks is when tensions mount.

Those who know me are aware of my routines and my little obsessions. Peppermint tea and peach iced tea being two of them. I always keep a box of Heath & Heather peppermint tea in my cupboard to start the day, end the day, or to have a cup at some point during the day. It calms me and I love the taste. The other day though I started noticing a discrepancy in my peppermint reserve. I said to myself that someone else must be partaking of the delicious “peppermintness” I so adore.

I lacked solid evidence of this so I said maybe I miscounted the number of bags remaining.

Then came the bait and switch. Someone put OTHER types of peppermint tea in my box! The very gall! I depleted my authentic Heath & Heather reserve and moved on to another box. That went swiftly also and again I suspected foul play but lacked evidence. Until I was down to the last tea bag and arose the next day to find it and the box gone entirely! Proof! Which at the time didn’t appease me since I was out of my calming peppermint tea. I purchased another box (I really should buy it in bulk) and carried on with my monitoring – but I needed answers.

I decided to confront my mother aka the most likely suspect and while waving the box “asked” if she had been drinking this peppermint tea. She turned, scanned the label on the box and declared she doesn’t use that brand “specifically” then asked if I wanted it. I was taken aback! I exclaimed “it’s MINE!” To which she acted as though she had no clue as to how this magical box of peppermint tea kept appearing in the cupboard despite her not buying it.

I am now suspicious of my father but he always denies touching anything so that will be a lost cause. Clearly there is a peppermint tea goblin breaking into my home and violating my holdings for his perverse pleasures.

This isn’t the end, I can assure you of that!

3 Responses to The Peppermint Tea Goblin

  1. Shauntelle says:

    Ro, I could write articles aplenty on this topic. But I agree that sharing space post mid-twenties is a struggle in maintaining your sanity.

  2. […] can see once he gets in, he a little gamer. Like pet like owner! 😛 Now Superlative and I share a love for tea. I learnt mine from my best friends dad. You want to win my heart? He has his  peppermint […]

Leave a Reply

