Sin – the Cake: A Triumph!

Since I’m writing about it again it must mean the cake was a success!

20140123-154646.jpg

The cross between a rich chocolate cake and a velvety smooth cheesecake turned out better than I had planned, but as good as I had hoped. The reason for my skepticism lay not in a lack of faith in my baking abilities, no no, it stemmed from me never having perfected either a chocolate cake before and not even having attempted a cheesecake before!

That’s why in my earlier post I spoke to this ambitious endeavor without going into detail. I decided to throw caution and recipes to the wind and say “you know what, I know what good cake tastes like, let me make this batter to suit.” And that’s what I did.

I also decided that it made no sense skimping on the ingredients and wind up with what would have been marvelous cake had I only used better quality ingredients.

Cadbury Cocoa, Kerrygold butter, Wisconsin cream cheese (yes, there is other cream cheese in the world besides Philadelphia cream cheese), fresh eggs, full cream milk – all went into the cake. As for the frosting, I donned a French accent and used French butter and two types of frosting sugar to create a triumphant cream cheese frosting that melts in your mouth.

I baked a small one for a friend as a late birthday/dangerous anniversary gift (inside joke) and I cut the rest of it into big slices to share. The thing’s going fast though… I may only end up getting one slice for myself!

20140123-155822.jpg

One Response to Sin – the Cake: A Triumph!

  1. I am genuinely delighted to glance at this website posts which contains lots of useful information, thanks for providing these data.

Leave a Reply

